CD 2063

Chinaza – vocals
Sebastian Weiss – piano, rhodes
Eric St-Laurent – guitar
Pepe Berns – bass
Heinz Lichius – drums

01 MHB  
02 The Flow  
03 Plush  
04 Changes  
05 Jealous Guy  
06 Moments Like These  
07 Closer  
08 Interlude  
09 In December  
10 Whatever Lola Wants  
11 MHB  
Recorded in July 2004 at A-Trane Studio, Berlin, and in June 2004 and May 2005 at Audiocue Tonlabor, Berlin.  

"If i can make it, you’ll gonna make it, too." Norah Jones in a conversation with Chinaza at Makor Club, Upper East Side, New York City, November 28, 2001.

Norah Jones really did make it. That’s a fact. Now it’s time for something new – Chinaza.

"My grandmother named me Chinaza – 'God responds'. Something I still believe in. My vision is to translate things I picture – and hardly can describe – into music. Modest Mussorgsky's 'pictures at an exhibition' inspired me to adapt his concept to my album. Every song has its own story, its individual picture and shines in all different colours. But together they build a complete work of art.

Jazz? Pop? Jazz-Pop? To me it’s a Jazz album. Not only because I like Jazz so much. In Jazz I simply experience the freedom of letting music happen, without possibly questioning the boundaries to Pop or even Soul. That's why I want to thank everyone who shares this experience – and especially thank YOU for responding.

When I met Norah Jones in New York she played at Makor with no admission charge – at that time she was not known at all to a brighter audience. After her gig we talked for a while – you can name it typically New York small talk – about music in general and success in particular. The main question for both of us was: How can I become more successful. But we had no master plan how this could work for us. So she encouraged me. And I encouraged her. A few weeks later Norah Jones had her first review in the New York Times. The hype started…”
Chinaza, Berlin 2005

Chinaza did not start singing professionally before she graduated from university. Still, she already sang background for hot (inter-)national acts like Joy Denalane (Freundeskreis), Hattler (Kraan, Tab Two), Della Miles (Whitney Houston), and Cunnie Williams. In December 2003 the 28-year-old joined the Katja Riemann Octet. Back in spring 2004 she started arranging songs and producing her first solo album together with pianist Sebastian Weiss (Rodney Jones, Till Brönner, Jane Monheit, Miguel Zenon, and Gitte Haenning).

"Jazzfantasies with a bit of sentimentality ... Chinaza has a very expressive voice ... the songs are musically paintings ... the informed audience was enthusiastic.“ Die Norddeutsche

Price 14.99 EURO


<- back to list