CD 2037
Randy Sandke

Randy Sandke tp, fl-h / Harry Allen ts
Wycliffe Gordon tb / Mulgrew Miller p
Peter Washington b
Kenny Washington dr

01 Let`s Face The Music And Dance  
02 Nobody Else But Me  
03 What`s New  
04 Come Rain Or Come Shine  
05 One For Mulgrew  
06 I Fall In Love Too Easily  
07 Cliffhanger  
08 One Fine Day In May  
09 I Concentrate On You  
10 Willow Weep For Me  
11 No Moon At All  
12 Limehouse Blues  

Recorded at Nola Studios, New York
on December 6 and 7, 1999.

Randy Sandke’s fabulous follow-up to the Jazz Times Top 10 Album 2002 ‘Inside Out’ - nagel heyer 2025.

Liner Notes by Randy Sandke:
One thing up-front about all the musicians I assembled for this date: aside from being a pleasure to work with, they all have distinctive musical personalities. They sound like no one but themselves and that is the trait I value most in a musician. This session was a joy to partake in, and I think that feeling permeates the music from beginning to end.

It's always a great pleasure to play with musicians you've admired for years. In the case of Mulgrew Miller, I'd heard him live numerous times (I recall one memorable evening at Bradley's where I was glued to my chair for three full sets), and we've crossed paths in Europe and Japan. Nevertheless
this album represents the one and only time we've played together. I wrote One for Mulgrew to celebrate our musical collaboration, which for me was a pure joy.

When Harry Allen was only seventeen, Bucky Pizzarelli brought him to a Benny Goodman rehearsal, which coincidentally was my first meeting with the legendary clarinetist. Benny was impressed with Harry and so was I. Through the years Harry Allen has continued to grow into the distinctive and mature player he is today. He is a wonderful interpreter of standards, but is equally assured on my own, at times, daunting material. He can sail through the most ferocious tempos, as on Let's Face the Music, yet turn in a sensitive and thoughtful performance on a medium swinger such as Nobody Else But Me.

Peter Washington and Kenny Washington have teamed up in innumerable rhythm sections over the years and currently make up two-thirds of the Bill Charlap Trio. Though the two are not related by blood, they share a bond as close as twins, or perhaps even an old married couple (in the spiritual sense, of course.) On this album, Peter displays his talents as soloist and accompanist on Come Rain or Shine, while Kenny sets fire to Limehouse Blues.

Wycliffe Gordon makes a cameo appearance on one tune, and one I wrote with him in mind. Cliffhanger is dedicated to his daring, go-for-broke, give-it-all-you've-got approach to music and life which is a constant source of inspiration to me. It's been my good fortune to work with Wycliffe in all sorts of challenging musical situations and I look forward to many more.

Price 14.99 EURO


<- back to list