CD 082
Harlem 2000
Dan Barrett

Dan Barrett co, tb, voc / Engelbert Wrobel cl, ts / John 'Butch' Smith as, ss, voc / Chris Hopkins p / Christian Ramond b / Oliver Mewes dr

01 Beyond The Blue Horizon  
02 Four Or Five Times  
03 Dreamy Mood  
04 It's Been So Long  
05 Solid Old Man  
06 Angel's Idea  
07 Echoes Of Harlem  
08 Haven't Named It Yet  
09 Drop Me Off In Harlem  
10 Body and Soul  
11 Harlem Sundown  
12 I May Be Wrong  
13 B-Flat Swing  
14 Synthetic Love  
15 A Lull At Dawn  
Recorded on November 12, 13 and 14, 2000 in Hamburg.

These monster players swing like crazy with great technique and tone, and obviously enjoy playing together. This is a wonderful reminder of how Harlem swung some years ago – but with today’s sound quality, of course.

 "Dan Barrett is one of the delights here, a melodist, a colorist who knows how to use a plunger mute with taste and, in total, a player Duke Ellington would have loved."New York Times"When it comes to Harlem-style jazz playing of an earlier, less complicated era, this is as good as it gets … plainly, a good time was had by all…" Jazz Podium

Price 14.99 EURO


<- back to list