CD 114
In Another Life
Marty Elkins & Dave McKenna

Marty Elkins - vocals
Dave McKenna - piano
01 Willow Weep For Me  
02 Do You Know What It Means To Miss New Orleans  
03 Jim  
04 Gimme A Pigfoot And A Bottle Of Beer  
05 Summertime  
06 Until The Real Thing Comes Along  
07 I Let A Song Go Out Of My Heart  
08 When Your Lover Has Gone  
09 I Wished On The Moon  
10 Willow Weep For Me (Alternate Take)  
11 Do You Know What It Means To Miss New Orleans (Alternate Take)  
12 Fuse Blues (Bonus Track)  
Recorded on June 7, 1988 at Garden Productions, New York.

Thanks Dave! Friendship forever!

“To sound like yourself is a very difficult thing. And what I mean by that is, not just to not sound like Billie Holiday or Sarah Vaughn, but to have something inherently special, so that people can say, ‘I know that singer!’ And to add style, and timing and an aesthetically pleasing quality to a song ‘til you breathe life into it, is no mean accomplishment. So if you’d like to hear a story – here it is!” Marty Elkins

This CD swings, and it’s not the kind of arm-twisting swing that so many singers and bands attempt to accomplish, but an innate, natural swing that makes you want to nod your head and tap your toe. Marty Elkins is a force to be reckoned with as she weaves her way in and out of up tempo songs, ballads, and swing tunes. Marty is equally comfortable with a swinging seven piece band as she is with an intimate duo.

Having worked with such greats as Charlie Parker, Annie Ross, Johnny Griffin, Stanley Turrentine and Chet Baker to name a few – Marty here is joined by her long-time friend Dave McKenna. Their deep relationship made this recording date a very intimate one.

“Marty reminds me of some of the classic big band singers like Rosemary Clooney and Anita O’Day.” Ron Della Ciesa, WGBH/Boston

“She’s a staunch traditionalist who polishes songs, then wears ’em proudly,”
Hot House Jazz Magazine

“Being a true person and a true artist are two very different things. You have to be able to do something that no one can teach you beyond a certain point... Marty has achieved this and more.” Stanley Crouch

Marty Elkins’ debut CD, Fuse Blues, was voted one of the best CDs of 2001 by Down Beat Magazine - receiving a four star review that year. Zan Stewart wrote...”Her voice has a glowing roundness. She hits notes without strain and she swings...”

Price 14.99 EURO


<- back to list