CD 2047
Light In The Dark
Roditi, Ignatzek, Rassinfosse

Claudio Roditi - trumpet, flugelhorn, vocals
Klaus Ignatzek - piano
Jean-Louis Rassinfosse - bass
01 Light In The Dark
02 No Hesitation
03 Alfitude
04 Rapaz De Bem
05 Waltz For Mike*
     (*In memory of our friend Mike Gehrke)
06 Nightbird
07 The Natural Bridge
08 Summer Blues
09 Gypsy Groove
10 Placid Mood
11 This Is For You, Claudio
12 Time Will Tell
13 Amor De Nada

Recorded and mixed on May 4 to 6, 2004 at Dada Studios, Brussels, Belgium.

Roditi is often presented on records and in concert as a big band power player but here we have an appealing illustration of the intimate and elegant sides of his musical personality. More than that, this is very much a trio of equals with each player listening to the others and developing their ideas and moods. They are all inventive, melodic swingers so their music plays to the head, the heart and the feet.

Apart from ‘Rapaz de Bem’ and ‘Amor de Nada’, the numbers are originals; nine from Ignatzek and two from Roditi.

This is an album that is likely to grow on the listener for its honest jazz values. I urge you to give it a try.

Price 14.99 EURO


<- back to list