CD 2085
Originals Only (Extended)
Wycliffe Gordon

Wycliffe Gordon – trombone, vocals
Victor Goines – tenor sax, clarinet
Randy Sandke – trumpet
Eric Reed – piano
Rodney Whitacker – bass
Herlin Riley – drums
and many others

01 Jolly Jume Jumey (Wycliffe II)
02 New Awlins'
03 What?!  
04 Blooz (Intro)
05 Blooz ... First Thaingh 'Dis Moanin'
06 Beauty's In The Eye
07 My God      
08 Cheeky        
09 Frantic Flight      
10 The Search (Part I)   
11 The Search (Part II)    
12 Touch It Lightly
13 Blues For Deac'n Cone     
14 The Island Boy
15 Bed Time
16 Rhythm Cone
17 This Rhythm On My Mind
18 Toast My Bread

Recorded 1998 – 2001 in New York City.

Wycliffe Gordon, as usual, is amazing, expressing joy, amiable personality and sophistication in his playing. Here he proves once again that he is one of the most talented players in jazz. But even though he enjoys playing modern jazz he always keeps an eye on the tradition.

Wycliffe Gordon has had an extraordinary career as a performer, conductor, composer, arranger and educator, receiving high praise from audiences and critics alike. He tours the world performing hard swinging, straight ahead jazz for audiences ranging from heads of state to elementary school students. His trombone playing mixes powerful, intricate runs with sweet notes extended over clean melodies, and has been hailed by The New York Times as “masterful”. Gordon received the Jazz Journalist Association 2000 Critics' Choice Award for Best Trombone.

“Wycliffe Gordon moved past respect and put some muscle and bawdy humor into his trombone parts.”
The Herald, Fernando Gonzalez

“Trombone player Wycliffe Gordon deserves mention for his energy, exuberance, and musical excellence as well. All the musicians deserve praise.”
St. Louis Post

“…one of the best trombonists and writers in jazz.”

DOWNLOAD ONLY! At the moment this recording is only available as a download. Please get the music at iTunes, amazon, musicload, napster, emusic etc.

Or get it from us for the download-price. We'll copy the music on a CD-R and send it to you together with a print-out of the cover image.

Price 10.99 EURO


<- back to list