CD 2053
Shifting Times
Paradigm Shift featuring Wycliffe Gordon, Marcus Printup and Joe Locke

Melvin Henderson – guitar
Gerry Youngman – organ, flugelhorn (on # 11)
Ted Poor – drums
Wycliffe Gordon – trombone
Joe Locke – vibraphone
Marcus Printup – trumpet
Bill Tiberio – saxophones
01 Sandu 4.04  
02 Yesterdays 5.02  
03 Sanibel Breeze 4.12  
04 Half A World Away 5.27  
05 Shifting Times 6.29  
06 Big Brother 6.26  
07 First Shift 4.55  
08 Simplistic Blues 3.59  
09 Why Not Scrambled 2.56  
10 Petra's Lament 4.52  
11 My Foolish Heart 2.36  
Recorded on March 4, 6, and 9 2003 at East End Studio, Rochester, New York.

What is a Paradigm Shift? Think of a Paradigm Shift as a change from one way of thinking to another. It's a revolution, a transformation, a sort of metamorphosis. It just does not happen, but rather it is driven by agents of change.

Melvin Henderson, Gerry Youngman, and Ted Poor make up the band Paradigm Shift, and they have something to say with their first album. "It is our aim to create music that is original and that will draw people because of what it is, not what it resembles. The music is the gateway. It is the means in which we earn the right to speak to a crowd which would not otherwise listen."

Paradigm Shift worked together for years developing their own sound and touring the USA before recording this CD. To make a stronger impact with their debut album in the jazz world they invited their long time companions Wycliffe Gordon, Marcus Printup and Joe Locke to join them in the studio. The result is an amazing recording by some of today’s hottest jazz musicians. 

Price 14.99 EURO


<- back to list