CD 2072
Roditi, Ignatzek, Rassinfosse with the Bremen Philharmonic Strings

Claudio Roditi – trumpet, flugelhorn, vocals
Klaus Ignatzek – piano
Jean-Louis Rassinfosse – bass
Hans Dekker – drums
with the
Bremen Philharmonic Strings
01 Light In The Dark  
02 Little Sunflower  
03 Eu E A Brisa  
04 Believe It Or Not  
05 Corcovado  
06 Cantaloupe Island  
07 Misty  
08 The Shadow Of your Smile  
09 The Monster And The Flower  
10 Obrigado  
11 Moonlight And Tears  
12 The Girl From Ipanema  
Recorded live on November 13, 2005 at Schlachthof, Bremen.

Roditi/Ignatzek/Rassinfosse are a trio of equals with each player listening to the others and developing their ideas and moods. They are all inventive, melodic swingers so their music plays to the head, the heart and the feet. With several recordings and hundreds of gigs they have proved that they belong to the crème de la crème of today’s jazz trios.

This time the trio is trying to move a few steps further. They have not only brought a drummer – Hans Dekker – into their dream-team but have also hired the Bremer Philharmoniker for a very special concert event. This recording is the documentation of this one night only jazz experience. Listeners will be for sure as enthusiastic as the audience were that magical night in November last year.

“… full of moonlight. For one thing, the combination of bass, piano, and trumpet creates an airy, open feel; for another, the material is light and lyrical. The trio consists of first-call Brazilian trumpeter Claudio Roditi, a master of expressive understatement; prolific composer/pianist Klaus Ignatzek, who's worked with Joe Henderson, Dave Liebman, Bobby Watson, and others; and Jean-Louis Rassinfosse, the busiest bass player in Belgium, who played with Chet Baker for ten years and has toured with the likes of Michel Petrucciani, Toots, George Coleman, and Philly Joe Jones.
With this trio's impeccable time, and Rassinfosse's strong walking lines, you won't miss the drums. Relaxing and thoughtful and full of genial energy, Roditi's latest is a refreshing change of pace from the usual trio format.”
All About

“Trumpeter Claudio Roditi brings an earnest understanding of his Brazilian homeland’s music to the table … it’s exceptionally well done and stands well on its own.”
Down Beat

Price 14.99 EURO


<- back to list