CD 101
Songs We Dig
Klaus Ignatzek Trio

Klaus Ignatzek - piano
Jean-Louis Rassinfosse - bass
Hans Dekker - drums
01 Invitation  
02 Two For The Road  
03 Foolish Door  
04 El Gaucho  
05 502 Blues  
06 Voyage  
07 When Sunny Gets Blue  
08 Beautiful, But Why?  
09 Star Eyes  
10 If I Should Lose You  
11 Wood'n You  
12 Caravan  
Recorded and mixed on February 23 and April 21, 2006, at Fattoria Musica, Osnabrück, by Hrólfur Vagnsson.

Songs We Dig – a world-class recording in the classic piano-trio format. And Klaus Ignatzek’s first trio outing with piano, bass and drums for more than 19 years!

If someone wanted to compile a "Who's Who" of European jazz music, the pianist and composer Klaus Ignatzek would certainly deserve an especially extensive entry in it. There is a definitely good reason for the critics continually considering him to be among the leading keyboard artists of this continent and for his numerous CD and LP recordings having received excellent reviews down the line. No matter whether he plays solo, trio or in quintet, Ignatzek always succeeds in arousing his audience's enthusiasm, thanks to his richly nuanced performance on the piano in connection with the original compositions.

"But Klaus Ignatzek should not be overlooked. Both in solo and accompanying situations, it is him who gives the music its drive. Nothing fancy. Just great Jazz."

"What I like about Ignatzek is that you never know what he will tackle next. Every record is filled with surprises but with the certainty that it will contain good music to refresh the ear, mind and spirit."
Mark Gardner, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz

"…the rapport between the musicians – both of whom revere the unexpected, avoid clichés, swing compulsively and respect the roots – is vividly evident in the music."

"Klaus Ignatzek is a fine, fluent pianist, adaptable to the needs of the band and the music, but authoritative when pushed up front; if his playing sounds cerebral rather than intuitive, it never lacks feeling."

"In fact this is a good team – and Ignatzek is an impressive pianist."
Hampstead Express

Price 14.99 EURO


<- back to list