CD 9011
The Burners
Donald Harrison

Donald Harrison - alto sax
Christian Scott - trumpet
Mulgrew Miller - piano
Eric Reed - piano
Ron Carter - bass
Billy Cobham - drums
and others

01 Playa Haters                   
02 Oleo                   
03 Keep The Faith                    
04 One Of A Kind                    
05 Double Trouble                   
06 Free Style                   
07 Get Your Swerve                   
08 So What                    
09 Well You Needn't                   
10 Free To Be                    
11 The Survivor                    
12 The Hook Up                    
13 Nouveau Swing                   
14 Mr. PC                   
15 Drum Line                  
16 I'm The Big Chief Of Congo Square   
17 One Of A Kind (Bonus Track)
Recorded 2001 - 2008 in New York City and New Orleans.

Donald Harrison is being called one of the most important musicians of the new millennium by CBS Sunday Morning. The boundary leaping New Orleans alto saxophonist’s distinctive broad toned sound is immediately recognizable as his own, regardless of the environment in which it is being heard, be it bebop, hardbop, swing, New Orleans R & B or funk. Harrison has managed to forge his variegated influences and extensive experience into a uniquely personal style.

Through talent and perseverance, Harrison has developed into one of the most significant artist to emerge in the last twenty years! The question with Harrison is not what he can do, but is there anything he can’t do? So far he has mastered and influenced everything he has touched.

The son of late great Big Chief Donald Harrison, Sr. began working with Roy Haynes at age 19 and Jack McDuff at age 20. He joined Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers at age 21. A few years later, he co-led a band with Terence Blanchard that had an enormous impact on the development of the "neo-conservative" movement.

DOWNLOAD ONLY! At the moment this recording is only available as a download. Please get the music at iTunes, amazon, musicload, napster, emusic etc.

Or get it from us for the download-price. We'll copy the music on a CD-R and send it to you together with a print-out of the cover image.

Price 10.99 EURO


<- back to list