CD 083
There Will Never Be Another You
Harry "Sweets" Edison

Harry "Sweets" Edison tr / Hendrik Meurkens vib, p / Giorgio Crobu g / Kalli Gerhards b / Torsten Zwingenberger dr

01 There'll Never Be Another You  
02 Ow!  
03 Wave  
04 Cotton Tail  
05 In A Mellow Tone  
06 Willow Weep For Me  
07 'S Wonderful  
08 Centerpiece  
Recorded live in Berlin on October 19, 1986.

The sound of Harry "Sweets" Edison's trumpet was, after that of Louis Armstrong, perhaps the most instantly identifiable signature in jazz. It could be recognized after just one note. Edison could play a note, bend it and place it with such impeccable timing that he was never successfully copied. He swung powerfully with a sparse and repetitive simplicity.

Many millions of people are familiar with Edison's playing without identifying it, for his muted trumpet comments and punctuation of Frank Sinatra's singing on Sinatra's best-selling Capitol albums was a vital factor in their success. Edison's earlier fame as a member of the Count Basie orchestra was eclipsed by his success as a Hollywood studio musician and he was an automatic choice whenever Nelson Riddle recorded.

Harry "Sweets" Edison is a jazz giant. His way of playing music has not lost any of its charm. He is really a knock out. Nobody else even approaches the trumpet like he does: Never too much and always plenty. 

Price 14.99 EURO


<- back to list