CD 2083
What A Time It Was!
Rick Hollander

Rick Hollander - drums, steel drum and vocals
Jason Seizer - tenor saxophone and recorder
Filip Wisniewski - acoustic and electric guitars, background vocals
Walter Lang - piano and fender rhodes
Martin Zenker - acoustic bass
01 Wide-Eyed And So Noble
02 Dancing Bear (Introduction)
03 Dancing Bear
04 Secrets From Home
05 Secrets From Home (Instrumental)
06 P.S. The Ice Is Slowly Melting
07 What A Time It Was!
08 You Lied to Me
09 Lost April (Instrumental)
10 Lost April
11 Coming To Terms

Recorded in May 2007 by Florian Oestreicher at Realistic Sound.

All music and lyrics by Rick Hollander
except Lost April by Emil Newman, Herbert Spencer and Edgar DeLange.

In the jazz world there are regular working groups and pickup groups. Because of economics and the need to do a lot of freelance projects, working groups have a hard time staying together. But drummer Rick Hollander managed to keep a working quintet together since 1988, and that was a good thing because he enjoyed a strong rapport with his sidemen.

Rick Hollander is a drummer with chops and musicality to burn. With his group he toured extensively through-out The United States, Europe and Japan. Group members have included Walt Weiskopf, Tim Armacost, Walter Lang, Will Woodard and Philippe Aerts among others. The group's unusual blend of modern, acoustic jazz styles is propelled by Rick's dynamic drumming.

After two recordings for Concord Records in the 90s he’s now part of nagel heyer records. His debut for the label called ‘What A Time It Was!’ is an enjoyable document of the Rick Hollander Quintet of today. Thankfully, Hollander and his colleagues don't devote their time to standards out of the warhorse category. Original tunes dominate the album. The CD is groundbreaking – something really, really special. It’s a good example of the sort of camaraderie that five jazz improvisers can enjoy when they have strong chops and strong ears.

Rick Hollander began playing drums at the age of 9. He studied privately with Gene Stewart and Roy Brooks and later attended Oakland Community College for courses in music theory, piano and composition. Hollander moved to New York City in 1979 and Europe in 1987. He's gained a wealth of experience working and recording with jazz greats such as Woody Shaw, Cameron Brown, Arnett Cobb, Roy Hargrove, Bob Mover, Mark Murphy, Rufus Reid, Steve Grossman, Robin Eubanks, Tim Hagans and many more.

“His work beneath the solos of his fellow musicians could be a complete short course on jazz for the listener.”
El Pais, Madrid

Price 14.99 EURO


<- back to list